1. ONE MORE

    Mississippi Bans Abortion After 20 Weeks

    Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant waits for another question the media after signing several law enforcement themed bills at the state Capitol in Jackson, Miss., Monday, April 21, 2014. Among the bills were appropriations for the Department of Public Safety, including a Highway Patrol Trooper school, and funding to hire more assistant district attorneys for high need districts. (AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

    Rogelio V. Solis/AP

    Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant signed a new antiabortion bill  Wednesday that would ban abortions after 20 weeks, without exceptions for rape or incest. According to the bill’s author, House Judiciary Chairman Andy Gipson, Mississippi was the last state in the Southeast without a ban on abortions after 20 weeks. The bill does have exceptions for when the mother’s life is in danger, or if the fetus has no chance of survival. Planned Parenthood called the bill “extreme” and pointed out the 20-week count begins from the woman’s last menstrual period, so it's actually an 18-week ban. 

    Read it at The Clarion-Ledger