Content Section

William Gaddis (1922-1998) was one of the first and most important American postmodern writers. He is the author of the novels and novellas The Recognitions (1955), J R (1975), Carpenter's Gothic (1985), A Frolic of His Own (1994), Agapē Agape (2002), and the nonfiction collection The Rush for Second Place (2002). His Letters of William Gaddis was published in 2013.