Three Women Receive Nobel Prize

Odd Andersen, AFP / Getty Images

Three women received this year's Nobel Peace Prize—Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian Leymag Gbowee, and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen. The three were recognized for their "non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work.” Sirleaf is Africa's first female president, Gbowee is a Liberian peace activist (and Beast writer), and Karman is a leading figure in Yemen's democratic movement. Helen Mirren and Rosario Dawson are hosting the event, and David Gray, Jill Scott, Evanescence, and Sugarland are performing.