07.18.144:15 PM ET

Winners for National Cowgirl Hall of Fame

The National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame has selected five women to induct as part of the 39th Annual Competition.

Did you know there was a National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame? Located in Forth Worth, TX, it’s the only museum in the world dedicated to honoring women of the American West. After a rigorous and competitive selection process – since 1975 only 215 women have been inducted -- five women (two posthumously) have been selected as the winners of the 39th annual competition and will be inducted into the Hall of Fame this fall. They include sister-duo chosen for their award-winning Chuckwagon cooking; a nationally-known trick rider and cattlewoman; a celebrated Fort Worth pathologist; and a Hollywood Western screenwriter. “We are pleased with the selection of this year’s inductees, and welcome them to the Hall of Fame family,” said Patricia Riley, Executive Director, National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame. “Each brings a unique cowgirl story to the Hall of Fame that will be preserved for generations to come.”