Content Section
SOCIAL CONSTRAINTS Facebook Changes Privacy Settings Justin Sullivan / Getty Images

Facebook Changes Privacy Settings

Once again, Facebook’s never-ending privacy setting debate is rearing its confusing head. While it used to be possible for users to control who could look up their profiles by name, Facebook announced that privilege would be deleted on Wednesday. Apparently, the setting was causing confusion. "Our concern, quite frankly, is that people think it provides a level of security, but it actually doesn't," said one member of Facebook’s privacy team. As for other changes, the social-networking site also unveiled a new menu tool bar, a request option for editing posts on friends’ walls, and a multiple untagging option. Let the outraged statuses begin.

December 12, 2012 9:22 PM