DeGeneres Nabs Mark Twain Prize

Ellen DeGeneres might be doing the dance she’s famous for on her talk show at the sound of this news. The comedian joined an exclusive list Tuesday when she was named as the winner of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. Past recipients include Richard Pryor, Steve Martin, Whoopi Goldberg, George Carlin, Tina Fey, and Will Ferrell—last year’s winner—are just a few to receive the honor. DeGeneres, the Emmy-winning host of The Ellen DeGeneres Show, is being honored for her standup, activism, and books. Most recently she released a memoir in 2011 titled Seriously…I’m Kidding. DeGeneres will receive the award at the Kennedy Center Awards in Washington, D.C., in October. The 54-year-old already has several other awards, including 12 People’s Choice Awards and three Teen Choice Awards.