Awards Season

Precious Sweeps Independent Spirit Awards

Precious scored some nice momentum heading into the Academy Awards Sunday. The film won big at Friday’s Independent Spirit Awards, taking home statuettes for Best Feature, Best Director for Lee Daniels, Best Screenplay, Best Female Lead for Gabourey Sidibe, and Best Supporting Female for Mo’Nique. Daniels threw an elbow at other nominees in his acceptance speech, saying, “[Hurt Locker Director] Kathryn Bigelow’s not here tonight. I am.” Mo’Nique’s acceptance speech was more subdued than for past wins, but she did address Sidibe from the podium, saying, “You are a special gift to the universe, baby.” Other big winners included Jeff Bridges for Best Male Lead in Crazy Heart and An Education for Best Foreign Film.