Fashion’s Finest

Rodarte Wins National Design Award

They’ve done it again: Kate and Laura Mulleavy, the sister team behind Rodarte, have won Cooper-Hewitt’s National Design Award. The pair beat out designers Proenza Schouler and Behnaz Sarafpour, who were finalists in the competition. The award, which is bestowed by a jury of 2,500 designers, teachers, and cultural figures, is given to designers who embody “excellence, innovation, and enhancement of the quality of life.” (Calvin Klein took home the award last year.) The Mulleavys, who won the CFDA award for Womenswear Designer of the Year in 2009, will pick up the National Design Award on October 14th in New York. First lady Michelle Obama is expected to be the honorary patron of the event.