Arms Control

START Treaty Passes Senate Hurdle

Against all expectations, the lame-duck Congress continues to get things done: The Senate is all but assured to ratify the new anti-proliferation START treaty with Russia, as 67 senators voted to cut off debate on Tuesday afternoon and move to a final vote. Despite early opposition from the GOP, several of the party's senators have swung their support toward the deal, with Republicans Richard Lugar, Olympia Snowe, Susan Collins, George Voinovich, and Scott Brown all pledging to vote for its ratification. In total, 11 Republicans joined the vote, along with all Democrats.