Three Women Receive Nobel Prize

    The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize laureates, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (R), Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee (L) and human rights activist Tawakkol Karman (C) of Yemen address the media during a press conference on the eve of the prize ceremony in Oslo on December 9, 2011. AFP PHOTO / ODD ANDERSEN (Photo credit should read ODD ANDERSEN/AFP/Getty Images)

    Odd Andersen, AFP / Getty Images

    Three women received this year's Nobel Peace Prize—Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian Leymag Gbowee, and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen. The three were recognized for their "non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work.” Sirleaf is Africa's first female president, Gbowee is a Liberian peace activist (and Beast writer), and Karman is a leading figure in Yemen's democratic movement. Helen Mirren and Rosario Dawson are hosting the event, and David Gray, Jill Scott, Evanescence, and Sugarland are performing.

    Read it at CNN