Content Section

MacArthur Grant Recipients Named

The MacArthur Foundation has released the names of the 2012 “genius grant” winners. Foundation officials announced that there were 23 recipients, each of whom will received $500,000 over the next five years to pursue a project of their choosing. Pulitzer-prize winning novelist Junot Diaz was named a MacArthur fellow as was Washington Post journalist David Finkel, who will use his prize money to finish a book about soldiers returning from Iraq. Maria Chudnovksy, a mathematician at Columbia University, Olivier Guyon, a physicist at the University of Arizona, and An-My Le, a photographer at Bard College, also received grants.

October 1, 2012 6:10 PM