The fan who allegedly interfered in a critical play in Game 4 of the American League Championship Series between the Boston Red Sox and the Houston Astros on Wednesday claims he did nothing wrong, according to The Boston Globe. Troy Caldwell, a Houston native, denied crossing into the field’s territory or touching the Red Sox player’s glove when he stuck his hand out to catch a Houston fly ball to right field. “I’m over the line and I put my hand out and the ball hit my hand. I never touched his glove. I don’t understand why it wasn’t a home run,” Caldwell said. The umpire, Joe West, called fan interference—denying the Astros their home run and calling the Astros’ batter out. The newspaper reports replay officials at the game “saw nothing that could change West’s call.” West maintains he made the right call. “When [the Red Sox player] jumped up to reach for the ball, the spectator reached out of the stands and hit [the player] over the playing field and closed his glove,” West told the newspaper. The Red Sox ended up winning the game, 8-6.
TOP 10 RIGHT NOW
SHOP WITH SCOUTED