Blizzard Driving Outlawed in NYC, Boston

The most populated states of the Northeast essentially ordered all residents to shelter as snowfall began to hammer the region overnight and into Tuesday. Connecticut banned travel after 9 p.m.; Massachusetts baned travel at midnight. New York’s state-controlled highways closed at 10 p.m. Driving non-essential vehicles will be prohibited in New York City after 11 p.m. (and the governor says there's a $300 fine if you try it). The subway system shut down at 11 p.m., along with bridges and tunnels between New York and New Jersey, and the Metro-North and Long Island railroads, the busiest commuter rail lines in the country, also suspended service. New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie declared a state of emergency and ordered the early closing of state offices. New Jersey transit will suspend activity until Thursday. New Hampshire has also announced a state of emergency. More than 7,000 flights were canceled while no flights will arrive or depart from LaGuardia Airport in New York and "minimal flight activity" is expected at other airports in the region on Tuesday, according to the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.