Nobel Peace Prize: Wartime Sexual Violence Activists Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad Win Award

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad have been named winners of the Nobel Peace Prize for their work on ending sexual violence being used as a weapon of war. The announcement was made at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo, Norway early Friday. Dr. Mukwege has dedicated his life to helping the victims of sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo, treating thousands of patients who have been victims of assault. Murad is one of an estimated 3,000 Yazidi girls and women who were victims of rape and other abuses by Islamic State. The committee said she'd “shown uncommon courage in recounting her own sufferings and speaking up on behalf of other victims.” The Committee said they hadn't yet been in contact with the winners.