DHS: Trump's Refugee Ban Includes Green Card Holders

The Department of Homeland Security on Saturday clarified that even individuals who possess U.S. green cards are included in President Trump’s controversial immigration ban. Despite the fact that the green cards make them permanent U.S. residents, citizens from Sudan, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Iran, Iraq and Yemen with green cards will still be barred entry to the U.S., according to a DHS spokeswoman. Spokeswoman Gillian Christensen told Reuters the order “will bar green card holders.” The news came after airlines began advising passengers from the seven blacklisted countries that they would need either a green card or diplomatic visas to enter the U.S. In addition, reporters covering the White House were informed that individuals from the affected countries with a green card already "in the United States will have to meet with a consular officer before leaving the country."