EU Deal Isolates Britain

Britain won’t be coming closer with its neighbors: it refused to sign the European Union’s new treaty after Prime Minister David Cameron sought exemption from certain financial regulations. Twenty-six nations—as in every EU member except Britain—have agreed to the terms of the economic deal, including all 17 counties that use the euro, but it still fell short of the unanimity that France and Germany desired. It’s unclear still how the rules will be enforced; the participating countries said they hope to ratify the new treaty by March.