Leymah Gbowee Wins Nobel Peace Prize

This year's Nobel Peace Prize goes to three women—Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian Leymah Gbowee, and Tawakul Karman of Yemen. The three were awarded the prize for their “non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work.” Johnson Sirleaf is Africa's first female elected head of state, Gbowee is a peace activist, and Karman is a leading figure in Yemen's pro-democracy movement. Gbowee headlined the launch of the Women in the World foundation and published her first book, Mighty Be Our Powers, with The Daily Beast's book imprint, Beast Books. "We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women achieve the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society,” said committee Chairman Thorbjoern Jagland.