Though he initially refused to explain why he disallowed the USA’s third goal in Friday’s 2-2 draw with Slovenia, World Cup referee Koman Coulibaly might be forced to explain his decision before FIFA's refereeing committee. The U.S. had fought back from 2-0 down and seemed to have completed the comeback in the 86th minute when Maurice Edu poked the ball home. But Coulibaly blew his whistle for a reason that is still unclear after hundreds of replays. The result could yet cost the United States a place in the second round. "If [Coulibaly] is found to have made a serious mistake, especially one that affected the outcome, then he would be highly unlikely to play any further part in the tournament," a FIFA source said. Coulibaly is widely considered one of Africa’s most experienced officials.
TOP 10 RIGHT NOW
SHOP WITH SCOUTED