Tiny Machines Win Nobel Chemistry Prize

The Nobel Prize in chemistry has been awarded to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, and Bernard L. Feringa for their work on molecular machines. The three European scientists designed and synthesized machines thinner than a single strand of hair that can deliver drugs within the human body. “They have mastered motion control at the molecular scale,” said Olof Ramstrom, a member of the Nobel Committee. Stoddart is affiliated with Northwestern University, Feringa is a professor at the University of Groningen, in the Netherlands, and Sauvage is at France’s University of Strasbourg.