Live Blog

Welcome to Day Two!

Nobel Laureate Leymah Gbowee, Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi, ‘Tiger Mom’ Amy Chua, Kosovo President Atifete Jahjaga and many more join the discussion.

From the rise of China’s new “tiger women” to the challenges of changing Afghan men’s attitudes toward women, the summit’s second day of panels and interviews promises to spark thought-provoking discussion.

* The morning kicks off with a performance by Broadway star Holland Taylor portraying legendary Texas governor Ann Richards, followed by a discussion led by Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg, and featuring New York Times executive editor Jill Abramson and feminist icon Gloria Steinem, on how women’s definition of professional success is evolving.

* Later in the morning, Tina Brown will interview 2011 Nobel Laureate Leymah Gbowee about her extraordinary efforts to bring peace to Liberia.

* We’ll also hear from Kosovo’s President Atifete Jahjaga, D.C. Chief of Police Cathy Lanier and U.S. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano on the unique skills women can bring to ensuring national and international security, followed by a panel on the urgent dangers women and girls face in Latin America.

* As the afternoon gets underway, The View’s Barbara Walters moderates a discussion between Yale Law Professor and “Tiger Mom” Amy Chua, Diane von Furstenberg and others on the rapidly expanding power of women in China’s workforce.

* Later, Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi will discuss the threats to women’s rights that the current political elections have presented. Valerie Jarrett, senior adviser to President Obama, will talk about the integral role women are playing in the economic recovery. And Christopher Dickey will talk with Lynsey Addario, Pulitzer-Prize-winning photographer kidnapped by Gaddafi’s forces in Libya last year, in a tribute to war correspondent Marie Colvin.

* The evening wraps up with the DVF Awards, hosted by Brown and Von Furstenberg, which will honor courageous women who work to help others. Inspiring kidnapping survivor Jaycee Dugard, executive director of the Tahirih Justice Center Layli Miller-Muro, Congolese activist Chouchou Namegabe and Brazilian graffiti artist Panmela Castro are nominated; Oprah Winfrey will be given the Lifetime Leadership Award.

Join us!